Lessons

March 23, 2010

These are a few of the lessons I’ve learned.

1. A tired mommy makes for a crabby, emotional mommy.

2. Tired kids make for crabby, emotional kids.

3. I cannot do two big “cook nights” in a row. Last night I was so productive, even after a full day of work and making supper for the kids. But tonight I’m exhausted and I was so thankful to have the meal done and ready to nuke! Tomorrow was supposed to be pizza night, but I think it will be taco night, because I’ve gotten nowhere with looking for a gluten-free pizza crust recipe and I have no energy to do so tonight, let alone making it.

4. I cannot practice this “new” parenting approach – The Nurtured Heart Approach – when I am this tired and I and my kids are this crabby. I just want them to sleep. I want to sleep. We did good…….pj’s by 6:30, ready to get in bed at 7:30. And yet it’s now 8:15 and there’s still several out of bed….getting a drink of “water with ice.”

5. Sometimes I really hate being a single mom. OK, most of the time. And then I think about it and I’m so glad I’m not still married. For so many reasons. That I won’t go into now. But life is better. Life is good. I just have to remember that.

Thus ends my random thoughts for the night. All I want to do is climb into bed (even though my children are not sleeping), but I’m trying to be a “good girl” and wait until my kids are sleeping so I can get on my treadmill for 30 minutes (two days in a row!). I’m not sure how much longer I can wait, though.

Leave a Reply

